Wednesday, March 23, 2011

AIADMK to take on DMK in 84 direct contests

CHENNAI: After accommodating its alliance partners, the AIADMK on Monday released a fresh list of 160 constituencies it will contest and the candidates it will field in the Assembly elections.

The AIADMK will lock horns with the ruling DMK in 84 constituencies and party general secretary Jayalalithaa will contest from Srirangam.

The 41 constituencies allotted to Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam (DMDK) were also announced.

The DMDK will have a direct contest with the DMK in 18 constituencies and the party leader Vijayakant enters the fray in the Risihivandiyam constituency in Villupuram instead of Vriddhachalam, his present seat.

The party's presidium chairman Panruti S. Ramachandran is the candidate for the Alandur constituency and K Pandiarajan will contest from Virudhunagar.

Election campaign

Ms Jayalalithaa will kick off her election campaign from Tiruchi on March 24.

The party candidates will file their nominations on that day.

She will wind up her campaign in Chennai on April 11.

Kolathur candidate

As per the new list, the AIADMK is entering the fray in the Kolathur constituency against Deputy Chief Minister M.K. Stalin by fielding Saidai Duraisami, a well-known face in the city's political circles.

However, former minister E. Madhusoothanan who was nominated in Dr Radhakrishnan Nagar, has been replaced by P. Vetrivel, originally the candidate for the Perambur constituency.]

Now the constituency has been given to the CPI (M).


Former Minister S.M. Velusamy, who was initially named for Sulur, could not find a place in the new list as the constituency has gone to the DMDK.

The party's candidate for the Thoothukudi constituency Jenifer Chandran has been replaced by A. Paul, joint-secretary of J. Jayalalithaa Peravai.

The AIADMK will face the Congress in 38 constituencies, the PMK in 21 constituencies, the Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi (VCK) in eight constituencies, the Kongunadu Munnetra Kazhagam (KMK) in six constituencies and the Indian Union Muslim League in three constituencies.

The DMDK will take on the Congress in 15 constituencies, the PMK in six seats and the VCK and KMK in one constituency each.


The CPI (M) is entering the fray against the DMK in four constituencies and against the Congress in three constituencies, the PMK in two constituencies and the VCK in one.

The CPI will face the DMK in seven constituencies and the Congress in three constituencies.

No comments:

Post a Comment